Juicy Cola Burgers & Rosemary Chilli Cheese Fries

When I was rummaging through Sheri’s book stash during Bookfest 2012 I saw something interesting enough to snag but I did not intend on keeping it.

When Ethan saw the loot I brought home he was all over those books and looked at every single one.  The ones I brought home for him caught his eye immediately.  And so did this cookbook.

“I know you don’t like for us to drink soda but this would be cool to try don’t you think?” he asked me as he walked right over to the cookbook cabinet and put it away without hesitation.   His asking was merely a formality because he had already become attached.

I took the book out and we looked through the recipes wrinkling our noses at a couple but this one made us drool mostly because we love a good burger.

We set out to make these burgers and I give him full credit for the adaptation.  I told him the recipe was a guide and he needs to make the way he wants it to taste.  And he really did a most excellent job.

They could have tasted like garbage and I wouldn’t have noticed because it was something he put his heart into but I can honestly say that these burgers were amazing.

I assumed he would want to grill them but surprisingly he wanted to cook them in cast iron.  So we browned them on the stovetop and baked them to finish it off. [drool…]

He is so “hired.”

I tried to think of something decent to serve with the burgers and since we are on a carnivore theme I decided chili cheese fries would fill the spot as sidekick quite nicely!  Clearly the burgers were the star, but I did make the fries from scratch.

I love encouraging him to be creative in the kitchen.  I prefer that he not settle for anything in life without knowing he can change the outcome with creativity and initiative.  The sky is the limit, the world is your oyster (whatever that means) and if he can learn to make any recipe taste the way he dreams it up then he will be able to apply that core principal to his own life.

This is the perfect tool for anyone to learn and I am glad that he understands that sooner rather than later.  Do you remember what you felt like when you were in junior high?  I do.  I would have loved to be equipped with some life tools and I truly believe that would have saved me from some very shaky times.  It’s amazing what a simple burger can symbolize, isn’t it? 🙂

Cola Burgers

recipe adapted from Classic Cooking with Coca Cola

1 pound lean ground beef

1/4 diced onion

1/2 cup shredded cheese

salt & pepper to taste

1/2 tsp. dried parsley

1/2 tsp. oregano

1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

1/2 cup panko

1 tsp. onion powder

1 tsp. garlic powder

1/2 can cola

1-2 egg(s)- We can’t remember so you will have to see if it holds together with 1 or 2!

Crumble raw ground beef in a large mixing bowl.  Add remaining ingredients, only 1 egg and mix with your hands.  After thoroughly mixed form one patty.  If your mixture does not hold its shape and crumbles easily add another egg and mix well.  Then form patties.  Brown both sides in a skillet and bake the rest of the way in the oven or grill them until cooked tender and juicy!

Rosemary Roasted Chilli Cheese Fries

recipe inspiration by Dionne Baldwin

whole washed potatoes

dried or fresh rosemary

salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder

chilli

your favorite shredded cheese

your favorite skillet- oven safe or get out a baking sheet and transfer fries from pan to sheet when the time comes.

Slice potatoes about 1/4 inch thick and if you wish to follow my example, cut them similar to steak fries.  Fry them in your skillet until both sides are brown, sprinkling with salt, pepper, garlic & onion powder and rosemary.  Bake at 375 degrees in oven save skillet or baking sheet for at least 25 minutes or until the smaller ones are crisp and the larger ones are soft in the middle and nicely brown on the outside.  Warm your chilli and shred your cheese.  When your fries are baked, you may prepare them on the baking sheet for more of a “buffet” style or per serving if you like.  Simply pour chilli over the fries and top with meltable, delicious cheese.  😀

I hope that you are able to try your version of these burgers and fries.  Share your pics of your favorite burgers on our Facebook page We are ALWAYS on the lookout for a mind blowing burger recipe!

Stay in touch.  You’ll want to hear about the best tasting barbecue I have ever had.  This will be impossible to dethrone…post coming soon and it’s already scheduled so I won’t forget!

19 responses to “Juicy Cola Burgers & Rosemary Chilli Cheese Fries

  1. I’d like to give this a try. Great description this recipe is one I know I can try!

  2. I LOVE vintage cookbooks! And those fries–rosemary and sea salt are my favorite seasonings for them. What a fabulous meal.

  3. Now THIS is a burger! I could easily stuff my face with this right now!

  4. Marni Jorgenson

    I never thought to use cola for this. It sounds like it helps make it tender but maybe not too sweet? This looks good I want to try.

  5. Great job, looks even better than a restaurant!

  6. OMG YUM! Everything looks amazing!!!

  7. Why keep searching when I see the ideal inspiration right here? Sensational!

  8. I have to admit – cola burgers make me suspicious. But the fries sound utterly amazing! 🙂

  9. Wow. What a recipe! I’m loving everything about this post! Yum.

  10. Oh, you’ve made me hungry for a burger now!!! What a fun recipe…and those rosemary fries sound just as amazing!

  11. Oh my aching heart (attack!) Nothing better than burgers and loaded fries to get my attention. And you’ve got it! I’m a vintage cookbook lover too!

  12. PS…I’d trade ya cake for bread anytime!!!! xo

  13. Lettie Hopkins

    I’d give anything for a juicy burger and some of those fries. When will you make another video? I would enjoy a bread tutorial.

  14. Vintage recipe books do have some real gems! Sweet of you to follow through on this also-it is hard sometimes with strange ingredients. I would have been doubtful. Great to add another tasty burger recipe to my stash! Also, there is no doubt when it comes to the goodness of the fries-rosemary-yum!
    Have a great day!

  15. What fun to introduce Ethan to a vintage cookbook. Looks like he did a fantastic job with the burger. I’m drooling over the combination of his burger and your chili fries….you’re not helping my goal to lose a few pounds! 😉

  16. Oh my goodness, these burgers look absolutely mouthwatering! What a fabulous recipe, and so simple! Thanks for sharing. Also, I’m having a great giveaway today with four potential prize winners, so you should enter!

  17. So great!! I have always wondered about cola as an ingredient and believe it or not, I’ve never had chili cheese fries. These both will be put on the ever growing list of things I must try. Thank you and as always, thanks for the pics too!

  18. Holy crap! I need those fries – for breakfast – right now!

  19. Dang it! How can I make juicy cola tofu!?!?!? LOL 😀

Leave a comment